Shorebirds at the Ferencmajor fishponds

I had a little chance between business meetings to visit my favorite local birding site, the Ferencmajor fishponds. The available time limited me to visit the only drained pond. The weather was pleasant and I wished I had more time to have a walk around.

Ruff_003_800px

Ruff at the Ferencmajor fishponds. © Gyorgy Szimuly

As this was my first birding day outside since the 1st of January 2008 I was really enjoying to watch migrating Black Storks, the hovering Western Marsh-Harriers and Eurasian Buzzards. Above the lakes I spotted two Barn Swallows.

Some records:

Pygmy Cormorant 1
Black Stork 2
Little Ringed Plover 7
Pied Avocet 2
Northern Lapwing 28
Common Redshank 20
Green Sandpiper 2
Common Snipe 4
Eurasian Curlew 1
Ruff 45

Try to spend some more time here during the week-end when real spring weather forecasted. Maybe some photography will be included.

Leave a Reply

