Changing life list without birding

Rubesees_003_800px

Rufous-bellied Seedsnipe in the High Andes, n Chile © Gyorgy Szimuly

I have been keeping life list since my first birding trip abroad. During this Holiday Season I started to recheck if every lifer has been added to my life list but suddenly recognized my list is scanty. Luckily I keep my birdwatching trip records in a separate file made it possible to crosscheck the lifers. The result astonished me in a good way.

Almost to all of my trip lists I had to add 2-5 ‘new’ species as I missed to include them earlier. All in all 26 species have been added which I had seen on my various trips. My life list now contains 2,040 species. This figure looks to be correct and up-to-date with the recent updates of the IOC checklist.

Leave a Reply

