Busy times

Ruff_004_800px

Ruff on the mudflat of Ferencmajor fishponds. © Gyorgy Szimuly

I have been quite busy in the last few weeks which is forcing me to reschedule everything I had planned earlier. Birding wise nothing exciting happening here as a result of unusual long cold weather. Only a few birds have arrived from the wintering grounds and I could see some of them. Northern Lapwings and Ruffs are here since two weeks. I saw European Stonechat, Eurasian Skylark and White Wagtails lots of migrating Common Starlings and a nice flock of Stock Dove containing 130 birds.

Hopefully I will be able to make some nice birding in a few days as the weather is warming up bringing more species. It is quite unusual not being able to find a single Black Redstart. I have travelled a lot in the last few weeks but nowhere I could find them.

I was told about the arrival of Western Marsh Harriers and an incredible number of Pygmy Cormorants were counted at the Ferencmajor fishponds (my local site). 105 birds were feeding in the reedbeds!!!

Will be back to you soon.

Leave a Reply

