First sign of Spring 2011

Yesterday a lone Northern Lapwing made me really happy as it crossed the Old Lake. The warm, spring-like weather brought a few birds to Hungary despite the weather would not warming up considerably. In the coming days daily maximums is forecasted to stay around zero Celsius. I was happy to add this record to WorldWaders database dedicated especially to waders.

Nortlapw_001_800px

Northern Lapwing. © Gyorgy Szimuly

Today while I was out for a short and chilling baby walk I found my first Red-brested Mergansers for the Old Lake. Two females were feeding with other Common Mergansers. I also found a leg banded Black-headed Gull but flew away before I could spot the spotting scope on it. The plastic ring was red coloured with white code.

Armedstroller

Baby stroller armoured with Swarovski spotting scope. © Gyorgy Szimuly

2 thoughts on “First sign of Spring 2011

Leave a Reply

