Trying for breaking a record

It’s been raining since last night and I spent all day home. By the afternoon I couldn’t stay at my desk and decided to go out to Old Lake for counting Pygmy Cormorants. A few days ago I counted a record number of Pygmies for the lake and hoped to break this record.

As we reached the lake I immediately saw the first small flock. I suspected they were already started moving cross the lake towards their roosting site. All in all I counted 137 birds until dusk. While we were waiting for the coming Pygmy Cormorant flocks 4 Western Yellow Wagtails were seen. It was a surprising addition to the year list.

Western-yellow-wagtail_001_850px

Western Yellow Wagtail (Motacilla flava flava) became my 125th observed bird species in 2011. © Gyorgy Szimuly

If weather allows I go out again tomorrow an hour earlier.

Leave a Reply

