Birding around Innsbruck, Tyrol, Austria

Traveling with a kid sometimes overwrites plan especially birding plans. I have to be more consistent in following my plans but birding was nice anyway. I was not sure if I could find my target species, the Citril Finch but I hoped.

Dsc_0372

The entrance of the Swarovski Optik factory. © Gyorgy Szimuly

In the morning I visited the Swarovski Optik factory and said hello to some people. They were so kind. I wish I could manage to see the production lines in life. From the factory we turned to a small road (L225) which runs at the foothill of the higher peaks of the Alps. Birds were active but the number of species was rather limited along the road. Willow Warblers, Common Chiffchaffs, Common Chaffinches, Eurasian Greenfinches, Coal Tits were the most abundant songbirds but again many Carrion Crows was seen between Absam and Terfens. As weather warmed up Common Buzzards were soaring over the cliffs. Unfortunately no signs of the presence of Citril Finches was detected. This is Dale Forbes‘s homeland but unfortunately he is out of office today. I am sure he could help me to find some Citrils if it is not too early for that species.

Dsc_0382

Church of St. Martin, Tyrol, Austria. © Gyorgy Szimuly

In the afternoon I was birding in a small village, named Mühltal. I parked the car (for € 2) and started to walk on the trail of the foothill of the Niederstasse Wald in my sandals. Forgot the tiny fact that the winter is still here so gave up walking after the first hunderd meter when the path turned to be ice covered. I simply could not make a step forward so returned to the car. I made some birding around the car park. I was happy to see 2 Eurasian Crag Martins, a male Black Redstart, a singing Common Chiffchaff, a Coal Tit, a few Carrion Crows and 3 Common Buzzards. Common Chaffinces were singing everywhere.

4

Common Chaffinch. © Gyorgy Szimuly

Dsc_0427

Stream of Mühltal. © Gyorgy Szimuly

Dsc_0429

Ice and snow covered track in the Alps. © Gyorgy Szimuly

Dsc_0441

Dsc_0443

Dsc_0462
Dsc_0463
Dsc_0465
Dsc_0476
Dsc_0485

Images from Mühltal. © Gyorgy Szimuly

The evening was spent in the historical part of Innsbruck which delighted our time. The warm lights, the wonderful temperature and seeing the social life of the Tyrolese people made this evening unforgettable.

Dsc_0532
Dsc_0560
Dsc_0582
Dsc_0584
Dsc_0645
Dsc_0703

Collection of images of the historical part of Innsbruck. © Gyorgy Szimuly

Leave a Reply

