Greater Linford Wood visit

Photo_3

I made my first visit to the nearby Greater Linford Woods which is less than a mile away from where I live. Birding was quite slow in drizzling fog but I managed to find a mixed flock of songbirds. As this forest could be an attractive roosting/stopover site for migrating songbirds it is worth to visit it more often, especially during the rarity season.

Photo_4

Photo_5

Fall colors are making the forest so beautiful in late October. © Gyorgy Szimuly

4-3

European Blue Tit. © Gyorgy Szimuly

Species seen (full list):

Common Wood Pigeon 6,
Great Spotted Woodpecker 2,
Eurasian Wren 5,
Dunnock 1,
European Robin 2,
Goldcrest 3 (new to my British list), 
Long-tailed Tit 18,
European Blue Tit 4,
Great Tit 7,
Marsh Tit 1,
European Nuthatch 3,
Common Magpie 6,
Western Jackdaw 8,
Carrion Crow 5,
Chaffinch 1,
European Greenfinch 1.

 

13°C, fog, windless.

Photo_1
Photo_2

Thanks to the superb Swarovski guys, Dale and Beate, I have got a nice Swarovski Optik cap which is now my everyday birding cap. I wear it by pride.

Leave a Reply

