Whining about the Ural Owls

First official record of the Ural Owl (Strix uralensis) in the Gerecse Mountain, nw Hungary. ©

First confirmed record of the Ural Owl (Strix uralensis) in the Gerecse Mountain, nw Hungary. © Mészáros Komáromy Márk

It’s been a while, about 30 years now, since I would like to see at least a single Ural Owl. No matter where! Despite it is a regular breeder in Hungary I could not manage to find one. I could have seen it easily by asking a local birder to show me one but somehow I always wanted to find it on my own. I failed to find one. Yesterday I got a news about a bird which was seen next to an artificial nest box placed by local rangers in the Gerecse Mountain, Hungary. The bird was seen in a strictly protected forest which is just a few km away from my previous home town, Tata where I have been living for more than 20 years. The whining part is I have moved to the UK last summer. 😉

This is a fantastic find and apart of whining about my dips I am so pleased to read this news on the local mailing list. I wish the bird stayed there for breeding. Probably I can manage to find one bird in Hungary or in Finland later this year.

Leave a Reply

