Lesser Redpoll in the mist net

Today a nice rarity was trapped in our long running local bird ringing camp. A Lesser Redpoll (Carduelis flammea cabaret or Carduelis cabaret) was ringed by local ringers. I was informed via the local hot line at 11AM and visited the Ferencmajor fishponds immediately. There has been only a few records of this species based on the Hungarian Nomenclature.

After enjoying the close encounter of this nice species we found two Red-breasted Geese on one of the ponds swimming among Greater White-fronted Geese.

I took this image of the bird with my iPhone. © Daniel Szimuly

I took this image of the bird with my iPhone. © Daniel Szimuly

We enjoyed the close view of the Lesser Redpoll. © Máté Szabó

We enjoyed the close view of the Lesser Redpoll. © Máté Szabó

I am keeping my life list according to IOC, where this is the subspecies of Common Redpoll but it is recognized by Clements and others as a full species. Anyway, I have never seen this species before. It’s been a good day.

3 thoughts on “Lesser Redpoll in the mist net

Leave a Reply

