Planning birding trips with the help of birders around the world

When I launched my self-publishing project on the world’s shorebirds I knew travelling w would be the hardest part to fund and sometimes organise. Then a lot of my Facebook connections, and good friends, offered help in case I am planning to cross their local pathces. Indeed some of them are living in the vicinity of top birding hot spots and the local knowledge always bring some excellent and elusive birds what, otherwise, might easily be missed.

The idea is now to map those kind and helpful birders who I can count on during trip planning as well as in the field. Signing up on the map is voluntary and it doesn’t mean any commitment. I also put myself on the map first. I’m more than happy to help traveling birders either here or in Hungary.

Anyone feels happy to support me this way, please share the location of the hometown and make a marker on this open map. Don’t share your exact address just the town of your residence. Please make sure you add your name so I can see who is linked to the map marker.

Me watching Dunlins and Ringed Plovers around Chesil Beach of Weymouth in Dorset.

Me watching Dunlins and Ringed Plovers around Chesil Beach of Weymouth in Dorset.


One of my targets to see the stunning American Avocet. This photo was taken by Ilya Povalyaev and was legally embedded from the photographer's Flickr account. All rights reserved by Ilya Povalyaev.

One of my targets to see the stunning American Avocet. This photo was taken by Ilya Povalyaev and was legally embedded from the photographer’s Flickr account. All rights reserved by Ilya Povalyaev.

Here is the map and the direct link to it.

Leave a Reply

