Elusive Cetti’s Warblers

Cetti’s Warblers Cettia cetti is the least common breeding warbler in England. In fact it is a bush-warbler and despite its unique and loud song, one has to be very patient to get a glimpse of this bird. I remember my first encounter with this bird in southwest Hungary where I spent a long hour near the bush it was singing. I could see the bush moving and shadows here and there, but after all it decided to perch for us for a little preening.

Cetti’s Warblers have been reported from a few locations only in Milton Keynes, including the Caldecotte Lake. Phot was taken with a Sony Cyber-shot HX400V camera. © Gyorgy Szimuly

Today I found two Cetti’s Warblers at Caldecotte Lake in Milton Keynes. One was at the north lake, the other one in the south lake. Both birds were singing in their possible breeding territories. I couldn’t spot the north lake bird but I was lucky with the south lake one. It perched in front of me but became quite alerted by a singing Common Blackcap but it even allowed me to take a few shots but none of them rock the world.

